“The Academy is building a legacy to honour Canada’s remarkable screen talent,” says Academy Chair Martin Katz. “It all began in 1949 with the Canadian Film Awards and prestigious hosts such as silver screen star Mary Pickford and Prime Minister Louis St. Laurent,” says Katz.
The awards have evolved from humble, pre-television beginnings in 1949 at Ottawa’s Little Elgin Theatre to a star-studded red carpet Canadian Screen Awards event broadcast live on CBC in 2016.
The next CANADIAN SCREEN WEEK takes place in Toronto. The 2-Hour Live CANADIAN SCREEN AWARDS BROADCAST GALA will be on CBC.
“From Mary Pickford to Martin Short, our awards have evolved, changed names, added television and digital productions to the competition and inspired the official founding of the Academy in 1979, but without fail, we have always celebrated glamorous, talented Canadians,” says former Academy CEO Helga Stephenson.
The Academy also hosts Les Prix Gémeaux, the annual French-language television and digital media awards, in Quebec in September.

The Academy Mandate

• Honour outstanding achievements in Canadian film, television & digital media
• Heighten public awareness and increase audience attendance, viewership, and appreciation of Canadian screen productions through awards shows, social media channels and activities
• Provide a wide range of industry-related professional development events
• Preserve and promote Canada’s film, television and digital media legacy

Academy Governance

The Academy operates in accordance with our national by-laws and mandates set by our Board of Directors and voted on by our voting members.

The organization and the Canadian Screen Awards are supported by:

• National Advisory Council
• Television Governance Committee
• Film Governance Committee
• Documentary Governance Committee
• News & Sports Governance Committee
• Digital Media Governance Committee
• Volunteer committees consisting of Academy members and leading industry professionals across Canada

Les Prix Gémeaux are supported by:

• Television Governance Committee
• Digital Media Governance Committee

The administration is led by the CEO, Beth Janson, with offices in Toronto and Montréal.